I Used To Call Myself A Libertarian

In my last year of high school I took to calling myself a libertarian. I had grown up with two Democrat parents. My father was and is still very liberal. Up in till (Is that right? “In till” I hate how that looks.) my senior year my political beliefs were typically that of my parents, I really cannot think of an issue we disagreed on. The first thing I remember disagreeing with my father on was drug legalization. He is all for legalizing marijuana but that is about it. When I told him that I though all drugs should be legal it started our biggest argument to date. He was almost upset with me. “I thought I raised you better than that.” That was an odd reaction and one he would voice again on my stance on gun rights. This time was the first that I really started think about politics for myself. I had been interested in politics before and had campaigned for Barack Obama during his first run but then I was still sticking to the belief that was easy. The one I was raised with.

When I moved on my own my political beliefs changed. I still held on to the principle that people should be free to do what they want unless it violates another but my view of the government and my country changed significantly. When I called myself a libertarian I was anti government but I thought I had to be against the country as well. Now my feelings towards government have worsened with my experiences with college, voting and being somewhat independent really driving my way of thinking. However I have grown to really care more for my country. I love the diverse geography and the attitudes of the people, even when I disagree with them. There is something very optimistic about the American people that makes me feel hope. It is often hard for me to see the bright side but I know the people around me do and that is comforting.

I used to call myself a libertarian, but now I call myself a punk patriot. I guess it is my (silly) way of saying anarcho-capitalist, sentimental freedom lover or I guess still in a way libertarian. All of which of silly enough on their own to be honest. But this new title works for me. It makes me laugh and still stays true to what I believe.

-The Punk

Leave a comment