Spirituality

I have been going to church the past few weeks. I don’t believe in God nor do I prescribe to any religion but there is a comfort in going to church. The church I have been attending is the local Metropolitan Community Church, it is a gay church. It being a gay church was what attracted it to me in the first place, I was curious how a church could serve the LGBT community and in the congregations mind not contradict the Bible. That has not really been answered yet.

While my initial visit was purely one of curiosity my continuing visits were based more in admiration. I was completely swept away by the kindness of the congregation. This isn’t to say that I view most churches as cold or bitter, mind you I grew up in a Baptist church where everyone was at least polite if not cheerful but this church is extraordinarily kind. Whenever I enter the building the greeting make me feel completely welcome, a feeling that I barely remember in the church I was raised.

I mentioned that I do not believe in God and I have not for years now. I completely fell away from my very rocky belief in high school and my new found atheism became more of an identity that Christianity had ever been. Atheism became one of the most regular topics of conversation between my main group of friends. We would mock religious people and had the idea that religion was some devastating poison to the world. I was what you could call a militant atheist.

Luckily that attitude did not last too long after high school and I now look back at those conversations as some of my most immature.

The Punk (for now)

Leave a comment